How to analyze authority in power in interaction

 

Tentative schedule

 

At the beginning of each data session, each author(s) get 5 minutes to present their particular approach. Then the floor is open for a collective analysis of the data.

 

9:00 - 9:15          Opening session by Nicolas Bencherki, Frederik Matte and François Cooren

 

9:15 - 10:45        Data session 1: On the possibility of dialogue and interaction (lines 1 to 57)

 

o    Mariaelena Bartesaghi (mbartesaghi@usf.edu): Multiple and contested authorities: On superdiversity and enoughness

o    Nicolas Bencherki (nbencherki@albany.edu) & Alaric Bourgoin: Authority as a transductive process

o    Richard Buttny (rbuttny@syr.edu): Authority and power as reflected in social accountability interaction

o    Klaus Krippendorff (kkrippendorff@asc.upenn.edu): Who is served by explanations of power

o    Yue Yang (yang033@usc.edu) and Nan Wang (nwang3@ucla.edu): Analyzing Authority and Power in Interaction: Promise of and Cautions from Ethnography of Communication

 

10:45 - 11:00      Coffee Break

 

11:00 - 12:30      Data session 2: Appealing to / constituting legal, moral, religious and interactional orders (lines 58 to 118)

 

o    Bertrand Fauré (bertrand.faure@iut-tlse3.fr) and Youness Quaram (quaramyouness@gmail.com): Where does the force that enables this “little big woman” to defy the federal court’ authority come from?

o    Trudy Milburn (trudy.milburn2010@gmail.com): Enticing the challengeable: “Under whose authority?”

o    Katherine Peters (katherine.r.peters@colorado.edu) and David Boromisza-Habashi (david.boromisza@colorado.edu): Who speaks for God? The power of the ethnography of communication for examining language-in-society

o    Christian Schwägerl (c.schwaegerl@hs-osnabrueck.de): “Interrupting my business”: The intersubjective construction of authority

o    Alena Vasilyeva (vasilyeva@umass.edu): Enacting Power and Authority in Interaction

o    Nan Wang  (nwang3@ucla.edu) and Yue Yang (yang033@usc.edu): Analyzing authority and power in interaction: A case analysis of one Q-A adjacency pair using conversation analysis

 

12:30 - 14:00      Lunch

 

14:00 - 15:30      Data session 3: Routines, structures and institutions: the stability of interaction (lines 119 to 180)

 

o    Birte Asmuß (bas@bcom.au.dk) and Helle Kryger Aggerholm (hag@bcom.au.dk): Power tensions in organizational routines: a conversation analytical perspective

o    Shiao-Yun (John) Chiang  (John.Chiang@oneonta.edu): “Under whose authority?”: a sociocognitive analysis of power dynamics in the confrontational discourse on same-sex marriage

o    Oren Livio (olivio@com.haifa.ac.il): Individual rights meet the neoliberal marketplace of ideas: Analyzing a debate on licensing a gay marriage.

o    Frédérik Matte (fmatt3@uottawa.ca) and Geneviève Boivin (genevieve.boivin.3@umontreal.ca): When the rational isn’t so rational anymore: The institution of marriage in tension

o    Huey Rong Chen (hc8677@yahoo.com): Conflicts, dialectics, and semiotic transformation of authority and power through CDA

o    Yang Yu (yyoung798@gmail.com): A Critical discourse analysis of authority and power in Kim Davis’s case

 

15:30 - 15:45      Coffee Break

 

15:45 - 17:15      Data session 4: Presence, absence and authority (lines 181 to 225)

 

o    Chantal Benoit-Barné (chantal.benoit-barne@umontreal.ca) and Daniel Robichaud (daniel.robichaud@umontreal.ca): Authority as an effect of presence: Negotiating authority through practices of presentification.

o    Vincent Denault (vdenault@vincentdenault.ca), François Cooren (f.cooren@umontreal.ca) and Pierrich Plusquellec (pierrich.plusquellec@umontreal.ca): When facial expressions and gestures speak louder than words

o    Sky Marsen (marsen@usc.edu): Stories and speech acts in performing power

o    Thomas Martine (thomas.martine@umontreal.ca): Gods vs. law

o    Jessica Robles (j.j.robles@lboro.ac.uk) and Theresa Castor (castor@uwp.edu): Accounting practices, institutional accountability and the blurring of ontologies

o    Jean Saludadez (jsaludadez@upou.edu.ph): The law and the license: exploring the use of the ventriloqual approach as a framework to surface power/authority

 

17:15 - 17:30      Conclusion